Pinterest Google+

Dorset C
Following the recent local elections in Dorset which resulted in the Liberal Democrats winning control of Dorset Council, some key roles were agreed at Dorset Council’s Annual Meeting on Thursday 16 May.

Councillors were asked to vote on appointments to roles including Leader of the council, Chair and Vice Chair of the council and committee chairs.

Councillor Nick Ireland has been appointed as Leader of the Council, with Councillor Richard Biggs as Deputy Leader. The Chair is Councillor Stella Jones and the Vice Chair is Councillor Les Fry.

The new Cabinet is as follows:
Councillor Nick Ireland – Leader, Portfolio Holder for Governance, Performance, Communications, Environment, Climate Change and Safeguarding
Councillor Richard Biggs – Deputy Leader, Portfolio Holder for Property & Assets, Economic Growth & Levelling Up
Councillor Simon Clifford – Portfolio Holder for Finance & Capital Strategy
Councillor Ryan Holloway – Portfolio Holder for Corporate Development, Transformation, Digital & Change
Councillor Jon Andrews – Portfolio Holder for Place Commissioned Services (Highways, Waste, Travel, Leisure etc.)
Councillor Clare Sutton – Portfolio Holder for Children’s Services, Education & Skills
Councillor Steve Robinson – Portfolio Holder for Adult Social Care
Councillor Gill Taylor – Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Environmental Health, Housing, Community Safety and Regulatory Service
Councillor Shane Bartlett – Portfolio Holder for Planning and Emergency Planning
Councillor Ryan Hope – Portfolio Holder for Customer, Culture and Community Engagement

Chairs of committees have been agreed as follows:
People & Health Overview Committee – Councillor Beryl Ezzard
People & Health Scrutiny Committee – Councillor Toni Coombs
Place & Resources Overview Committee – Councillor Andy Canning
Place & Resources Scrutiny Committee – Councillor Noc Lacey-Clarke
Audit & Governance Committee – Councillor Gary Suttle
Appeals Committee – Councillor Andrew Starr
Harbours Advisory Committee – Councillor Rob Hughes
Licensing Committee – Councillor Derek Beer
Strategic & Technical Planning Committee – Councillor Duncan Sowry-House
Northern Area Planning Committee – Councillor Richard Crabb
Eastern Area Planning Committee – Councillor David Tooke
Western Area Planning Committee – – Councillor Dave Bolwell
Pension Fund Committee – Councillor Andy Canning

Councillor Nick Ireland, Leader of Dorset Council said: ‘The new intake of elected members to Dorset Council has added to the strength and depth of skills already present and I’m pleased that the new Cabinet reflects this.

‘The Liberal Democrats campaigned on a commitment to genuine cross-party working and that process has started tonight in the appointments that we have made. We will look to make decision making as local and democratic as possible; listening more to local residents and creating a genuine partnership with town and parish councils.’

A full list of all Dorset Council councillors is available on its website.

Previous post

How Gillingham will commemorate the 80th anniversary of D-Day: 6 June 2024

Next post

New Gillingham mayor promises 'listening' approach

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *