Pinterest Google+
school sports awards Gillingham
The school’s four Sports Personalities with guest speaker Marlo Boyd.

Gillingham School recently celebrated many sporting success stories during their annual Sports Awards evening and the guest speaker this year was ex-student Marlo Boyd.

Whilst at Gillingham School Marlo was an accomplished school athlete. She played for all the teams she could at school but she was perhaps best known amongst her peers as a competitive Wiltshire Tennis player. After leaving school in 2012, and inspired by the 2012 Olympics. Marlo went onto be a Henley level rower but then after major back surgery started to play rugby at university and went onto play in the Premiership with Bristol Bears.

Marlo’s sporting pathway is unique and her experiences in a range of sports gave us an inside, insight into ambitions and resilience; the highs and lows of elite sport.

During the evening, players players awards were given in hockey, netball, football, rugby, handball, cricket and basketball. Students who have shown dedication and commitment to a number of sports were also rewarded with coaches commitment awards. Recognition was also given to those students involved in sports leading and coaching within the school, primary feeder schools and the local community.

After the interval the evening moved onto individual awards which included recognition of pupils that have been involved in high level rugby. The evening ended with the presentation of the much coveted Sports Personalities of the Year Awards to both Lower and Upper School students.

Award Winners

Upper School Sports Personalities: Kenton Ward & Thea Primrose

Lower School Sports Personalities: Monty Luck & Tabby Poole

Burton Cup: Lyra Medlock

Ford Cup: Alicia Foot & Hester Readman

Digby Cup: Owain Newing

Sports Challenge Award: Oli Morland

Unsung Hero: Kai Marks

Maidment Cup: Connor Robinson

Duke of Edinburgh Award: Ifor Jones

Dancer of the Year: Anna Ovenden

Swimmers of the Year: Freddie George & Katie Knight

Cross-Country Runner of the Year: Danny Dacombe

Archer of the Year: Samuel Fudge

Tennis player of the Year: Ruen Collins

Pippen Shield: Beth Walford

Pippen Cup: Gracie Williams

Bultitude Cup: Bella Hughes

Barton-Smith Cup: Imogen Mogridge

Coach of the Year: Oscar Lewis

Young Sports Leader: Poppy Marshall

Coaches Commitment Awards:

Yr7 = S.Ward & P.Readman

Yr8 = E.Casely & H.McCarter

Yr9 = M.Ralph & H.Blakeney

Yr10 = Z.Jordan-Whitaker & H.Dibben

Yr11 = R.Bridgewater & O.Lewis

Seniors = E.Woodhouse & J.Radford

Player of the Year:


Yr7 = L.Brady, Yr8 = L.Persey, Yr9 = G.Williams & A.Carr, Yr10 = D.Lewin-Gray, Yr11 = S.Peck & J. MacFie, Seniors = T.Primrose & D.Krammer


Yr7 = S.Toy & I.Woolley, Yr8 = T.Strong & C.Chambers, Yr9 = F.Moncrieff & K.Ealson, Yr10 = R.Trowbridge, Yr11 = W.Morgan, Seniors = K.Brace


Yr7 = J.Martin, Yr8 = C.Kirchner, Yr9 = S.Perrett, Yr10 = G.Horne, Yr11 = F.Evans Seniors = A.Josey


Yr7 = F.Bellinger, Yr8 = A.Penny, Yr9 = A.Hannigan & A.Robinson, Yr10 = A.Manning & I.Osborne, Yr11 = O.Newing


Yr9 = M.Luck, Yr10 = F.Alexander, Yr11 = L.Griffths


Yr8 = C.Chambers & O.Stone, Yr9 = T.Ohuanbor & J.Hinchcliffe

Cricket 2022

Yr7 = J.McCarter, Yr8 = G.Dimmack, Yr9 = S.Barnes, Yr10 = C.Robinson

Yr8 Winter 2023 = O.Myatt

Previous post

Gillingham’s latest recreational facility officially opens – pétanque

Next post

Keep your kids busy this May half-term with Prime Sports Coaching’s Multi-Activity Camp!

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *